tclakin

UFC 100 is on Saturday. I Don’t Care.

In Uncategorized on July 10, 2009 at 12:12 pm
What? No blowout haircut?

What? No blowout haircut?

A lot of people are excited for UFC 100 on Saturday. Frankly, I couldn’t care less. I don’t even know what it means. Is this the 100th major UFC event? Have 100 guys died since UFC started and they’re celebrating?Are they going to be handing out Tapout t-shirts at the turnstiles like the Penguins gave out white shirts during the playoffs? What would you even call that? An Tapout-out?

I have no idea, and I don’t really care. As far as I’m concerned, UFC is glorified street fighting – not that there’s anything wrong with that, I just don’t find it that entertaining. I would simply rather watch a pure fighting sport, like boxing, where the action is easy to follow and it’s clear when you’re watching a great athlete compete. A good right hook is a good right hook. A rear naked choke, on the other hand, is….well, I’m not actually sure what a rear naked choke is, but I definitely don’t want any part of it.

I have no desire to watch UFC – it’s that simple. A lot of people do, and that’s fine. There are just other things I’d rather do with my time. It doesn’t appeal to me. Why would I pay money to watch two shirtless guys roll around on the ground in five minute intervals? In other walks of life, that kind of thing doesn’t usually appeal to the fake-tanned meatheads who plunk down the big bucks for these events.

I don’t like the whole culture of UFC. I don’t like that its fans think that, simply because they watch the sport, they are all of a sudden skilled fighters too – like their Tapout shirts somehow grant them extraordinary super fighting powers. I don’t like what I’ve seen from current UFC President – and lifetime blowhard – Dana White. It’s almost as if he thinks he’s Vince McMahon, but at least McMahon knows he’s playing a character. Finally – and this is the kicker, I can’t stand the UFC’s clubby, Ed Hardy atmosphere. Why would I pay to watch stuff like that when I can just wander around Faneuil Hall at 2 AM on a Saturday night and see the same things for free?

Hell, if I wanted to bathe in a sea of Affliction t-shirts, I’d just move to New Jersey.

Leave a Reply

