tclakin

2009 Summer Movie Preview: 10 to Watch For

In Uncategorized on May 18, 2009 at 5:08 pm

That’s right – there’s a new Game 6 feature in town! Introducing the Summer Movie preview (and I’m not ruling out movie reviews, either). So, without Freddy Adu, 10 movies to look for this summer in order of release date:

1. Star Trek

Release Date: In theaters

What It’s About: It’s a re-boot of the original Star Trek franchise. So, it’s about space and time travel and other nerdy stuff. 

What I think: I was never a big Star Trek guy growing up but this one’s gotten great reviews across the board (95% on Rotten Tomatoes) and I’ve heard it’s terrific. See it for the special effects at very least, and see it in IMAX.

Update: I just came back from the movie. It’s awesome. Go see it now. 

2. Angels & Demons 

Release Date: In theaters 

What It’s About: The movie version of The Da Vinci Code author Dan Brown’s first book, Angels & Demons is a similar religion-science melting pot thriller. It follows Tom Hanks (as symbologist Robert Langdon) through Rome in his quest to track down anti-Catholic group The Illuminati before they destroy the Vatican. 

What I think: Well, this one I’ve seen and it’s good. Good, not great. It’s a solid enough thriller – definitely better than The Da Vinci Code though, and Tom Hanks at least got a haircut for this one. 

3. Terminator Salvation 

Release Date: Thursday, May 21st

What It’s About: Futuristic terminator stuff, obviously. John Connor (Christian Bale) leads the resistance against the computer network Skynet…and blows stuff up. 

What I think: I have to be honest – I’ve never seen a Terminator movie so I don’t have much to go off here. I have seen plenty of Christian Bale movies though and they’ve all been good, so I have no reason to suspect that this one won’t be. (Except that it’s directed by a guy named McG. Just McG, that’s it. One word. So…we’ll see.)

4. The Hangover 

Release Date: Friday, June 5th

What It’s About: Four guys head to Vegas for a bachelor party. The next morning, three of them wake up in a hotel room with a live chicken and no groom. Hilarity ensues. 

What I think: This one has some potential, with a decent cast (including Sack Lodge from Wedding Crashers) and a Mike Tyson cameo. You may have seen a preview or 1000 if you’ve been watching the NBA and NHL finals, but the hype machine must be working because I’ve heard good things. 

5. The Taking of Pelham 123 

Release Date: Friday, June 12th

What It’s About: This remake of the 1974 original stars Denzel Washington as a New York City subway worker who is forced into action when John Travolta’s character takes a subway train and it’s passangers hostage. 

What I think: I’m really excited for this one. There’s nothing bad about the pairing of director Tony Scott (brother of Ridley) and Denzel Washington, the two men responsible for one of the most underrated movies of all time, 2004’s Man On Fire. If Pelham is anywhere near as good as that one, we’re in for a treat. 

6. Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen 

Release Date: Wednesday, June 24th 

What It’s About: Real-life action figures fighting each other, primarily. And Megan Fox. 

What I Think: I have no idea what to think about Transformers 2. The first one was pretty good and director Michael Bay usually throws together a good action movie, so it has a good shot of being entertaining. I’ll probably see it. 

7. The Hurt Locker 

Release Date: Friday, June 26th 

What It’s About: This is another entry in the ever-lengthening line of movies about the current Iraq War. Set in Baghdad, it deals with an elite military bomb-defusing unit and stars Anthony Mackie of We Are Marshall fame. 

What I Think: If it’s well-made (which many who’ve seen it say it is), The Hurt Locker could be the first good Iraq War movie.

8. Public Enemies 

Release Date: Wednesday, July 1

What It’s About: This movie stars Johnny Depp as 1930’s bank robber John Dillinger and Christian Bale as FBI agent Melvin Purvis who is tasked with stopping the famed gangster. 

What I Think: What I think is that Public Enemies is the movie to beat this summer. Directed by Michael Mann and starring Depp and Bale? Say no more. Just mark July 1st on your calendars, ladies and gentlemen. This is the kind of movie you see on opening night and pray that it meets its potential. And if it does, you go see it again immediately. 

9. Bruno 

Youtube deletes any Bruno trailers

Youtube deletes all posted Bruno trailers

Release Date: Friday, July 10th

What It’s About: It’s Borat, except this time Borat (Sacha Baron Cohen) is a gay Austrian fashion reporter named Bruno. 

What I Think: If Baron Cohen successfully pulled it off again, a) we should be ashamed of ourselves and b) this movie will be awesome. 

10. Inglourious Basterds 

Release Date: Friday, August 21

What It’s About: The film (directed by Quentin Tarantino) deals with a special Jewish-American military unit – led by Lieutenant Aldo Raine (Brad Pitt) – that is dispatched into Nazi Germany to spread chaos and fear. In the trailer, Pitt’s Raine orders each of his men to bring him 100 Nazi scalps. Good Lord. 

What I Think: On one hand, you have the love-it or hate-it Tarantino style direction (I go back and forth on this) and on the other, you have Pitt playing the ultimate badass. So, what do I think? I think it could go either way. But I’ll definitely be in the theater to find out. 

So there you go – a top 10 list of 2009’s must-see summer movies from Game 6. Expect more coverage as the blockbuster months begin because when I’m not watching sports, I’m watching movies.

Leave a Reply

